Asked by: Chaimaa Lasca
asked in category: General Last Updated: 1st July, 2020

How do you use ASAM criteria?

How to Use The ASAM Criteria
  1. Become active participants in their own care.
  2. Learn about, anticipate and understand treatment options and protocols.
  3. Use the ASAM criteria's six dimensions, or life areas, to better understand how risks and strengths, skills and resources in one life area can affect another.

Click to see full answer.

Likewise, what are the ASAM criteria?

The ASAM Criteria is a collection of objective guidelines that give clinicians a way to standardize treatment planning and where patients are placed in treatment, as well as how to provide continuing, integrated care and ongoing service planning.

One may also ask, what does Asam mean? American Society of Addiction Medicine

Regarding this, how many dimensions are found in the ASAM criteria?


What are the levels of treatment?

There are four main levels of treatment for substance abuse:

  • Level I — outpatient treatment.
  • Level II — intensive outpatient treatment.
  • Level III — medically monitored intensive inpatient treatment.
  • Level IV — medically managed intensive inpatient treatment.

25 Related Question Answers Found

What level of care is partial hospitalization?

How many hours a week is IOP?

What is the ASAM definition of addiction?

What is ASAM level of care?

What is a level of care assessment?

What level of care is PHP?

What does intensive outpatient mean?

Which level of the continuum of care intensity provides early intervention?

What is the purpose of the American Society of Addiction Medicine ASAM Patient Placement Criteria manual?

Why is it important for a professional counselor to understand the levels of care established by the American Society of Addiction Medicine ASAM )?

What qualifies as an addiction?

What does ASAM criteria stand for?

What is a treatment condition?

What is the treatment group in an experiment?