Asked by: Ursino Murtinhoasked in category: General Last Updated: 18th April, 2020
How old do you have to be to rent a boat in Maryland?
Considering this, how old do you have to be to drive a boat in MD?
Boating Age Requirements In Maryland, no one may operate a motor-powered vessel involved in towing activities if they are under the age of 12 (or under the age of 16 if operating a PWC). Personal watercraft operators must be at least 16 years of age and have a boating safety certificate.
Also Know, do you need a boaters license to rent a boat in Maryland? Anyone born after July 1, 1972 may NOT operate a motorized vessel, including personal watercraft, unless they have obtained a certificate of boating safety education approved by the Maryland Department of Natural Resources. PWC operators must be at least 16 years of age and possess a boating safety certificate.
In this manner, can a 14 year old drive a boat?
No one under 14 years of age may operate a PWC. Persons 14 years old up to 16 years of age may operate if they are accompanied by an adult 18 or older or have a certificate of competency from a NASBLA approved boating education course and some form of ID.
Can you have alcohol on a boat in Maryland?
It is illegal to operate a boat while impaired by alcohol and/or drugs. Under Maryland law, a person is considered to be boating under the influence if he or she has a blood alcohol content of 0.08% or greater. The addition of alcohol reduces a person's ability to safely operate a boat.