Asked by: Firmo Sailendra
asked in category: General Last Updated: 17th February, 2020

What are the Earth's oceans?

On Earth, an ocean is one of the major conventional divisions of the World Ocean. These are, in descending order by area, the Pacific, Atlantic, Indian, Southern (Antarctic), and Arctic Oceans.

Click to see full answer.

People also ask, what are the 5 oceans on Earth?

Pacific, Atlantic, Indian, Arctic… and the Southern Ocean which is off the coast of Antarctica.

What are the 5 OCEANS of the World?

  1. 1 Pacific Ocean. The Pacific Ocean is the largest ocean covering more than 30% of the Earth.
  2. 2 Atlantic Ocean.
  3. 3 Indian Ocean.
  4. 4 Southern Ocean.
  5. 5 Arctic Ocean.

Also Know, are there 4 or 5 Oceans? Historically, there are four named ocean basins: the Atlantic, Pacific, Indian, and Arctic. However, most countries - including the United States - now recognize the Southern (Antarctic) as the fifth ocean basin. The Pacific, Atlantic, and Indian are the most commonly known.

Consequently, what are the 7 seas and 5 Oceans?

The Seven Seas include the Arctic, North Atlantic, South Atlantic, North Pacific, South Pacific, Indian, and Southern Oceans. The exact origin of the phrase 'Seven Seas' is uncertain, although there are references in ancient literature that date back thousands of years.

What are the 7 oceans called?

Since the 19th century, the term has been taken to include seven oceanic bodies of water:

  • the Arctic Ocean.
  • the North Atlantic Ocean.
  • the South Atlantic Ocean.
  • the Indian Ocean.
  • the North Pacific Ocean.
  • the South Pacific Ocean.
  • the Southern (or Antarctic) Ocean.

38 Related Question Answers Found

Who named the Atlantic Ocean?

What is a sea?

What is the difference between a sea and an ocean?

Why are oceans salty?

Do all the oceans connect?

Why is it called Seven Seas?

What sea is in Antarctica?

How deep the ocean is?

What are the 6 major oceans?